About the ATC

About ATC

The Association of Translation Companies was formed in 1976 by a group of leading translation companies in Britain, making it one of the oldest organisations representing the interests of translation companies in the world.

Over the years the Association has expanded its horizons and attracted members from around the world. For those seeking to source translations, the Association acts as an impartial clearing house guiding them to those members most suited to help them.

ATC members must carry professional indemnity insurance cover and adhere to an agreed Code of Professional Conduct, which has now become the profession's standard. In cases of dispute between a client and a translation company, whether it is a member or not, the Association offers an independent arbitration service.

Because the Association represents the translation company sector of the profession, it can talk with authority to legislators about matters affecting the translation industry. The ATC is a founding member of the European Union of Association of Translation Companies – a pan European grouping of translation company associations.


The Association’s activities are guided by its council and elected officers. The current officers of the Council are:

  • Chairman and member of the Membership Committee and member of PR Committee, Roy Allkin, Wolfestone Translations
  • Vice Chairman and member of the Membership Committee , Jesper Sandberg, STP
  • Hon Treasurer and EUATC representative, Cherie Plaice, Word Fish

Officers may be re-elected once (serving a total of six years). Council will only re-elect beyond this period in exceptional circumstances.

Other members of Council are:

  • Chairman Public Sector Interpreters’ Committee, Paul Stewart, Wessex Translations
  • Education Committee, Anu Carnegie-Brown (co-opted), SPT
  • Chair Membership Committee, Ruth Partington, RP Translate
  • Chair Conference Organising Committee, Janet Perkins, TW Languages
  • Member of the Conference Organising Committee, Levent Yildizgoren, ttcwetranslate
  • Chair PR and Public Affairs Committee, Isabella Moore, Comtec Group
  • Member of the PR and Public Affairs Committee, Christine Weightman, ETLS
  • Member of the PR and Public Affairs Committee, Mark Robinson, Alexika
  • Chair ISO Commenting Group, Raisa McNab (co-opted), STP

Members can serve a maximum of 4 years and may stand for a further 4 year term before retiring from the Council.




Follow Us